The Board and Leadership Team

You will find below information about the Southern Cross Austereo Board of Directors and Leadership Team


Max Moore-Wilton


Max Moore-Wilton is the chairman of the Board and also chairman of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. Prior to his appointment Max has had a distinguished career in both the private and public sectors and was secretary to the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet from May 1996 to December 2002 where he oversaw fundamental reform of the Commonwealth Public Service.


Leon Pasternak

Deputy Chairman

Leon Pasternak is the deputy chairman of the Board and is a committee member of the Remuneration and Nomination and Audit and Risk Committees. Until July 2010 Leon was a senior partner at law firm Freehills specialising in mergers and acquisitions, public offerings and corporate reorganisations. Leon has since assumed the role of vice chairman and managing director of mergers and acquisitions at investment bank Merrill Lynch.

Board Members - Chris de Boer

Chris de Boer


Chris de Boer has had various careers in investment banking , business consulting , stockbroking and direct investment and through them gained experience in initial public offerings, mergers and acquisitions, corporate reorganisations, joint ventures, bond issues and financial advice across London, Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand, in both domestic and cross-border deals.

Board Members – Tony Bell

Tony Bell


Tony Bell is one of Australia’s most distinguished media operators with over 30 years’ experience in the Australian radio and free -to -air television industry. As managing director of Southern Cross Broadcasting (Australia) Limited from 1993 to 2007 Tony gained extensive experience in regional and metropolitan media and was instrumental in its formation as one of Australia’s leading media companies.

Board Members – Michael Carapiet

Michael Carapiet


Until his retirement in July 2011, Michael was the head of Macquarie Capital and Macquarie Securities Group with the former being the business out of which Australia’s largest investment advisory services business operates and the latter being the institutional equities arm of the Macquarie Group. Michael’s 22 years with the Macquarie Group saw him take a leading role in the development of the Macquarie Capital business in Australia and internationally, particularly with respect to its infrastructure advisory and fund businesses.

Board Members – Peter Harvie

Peter Harvie


Peter Harvie has more than 35 years’ experience in the Australian media industry. Prior to his appointment Peter was the executive chairman of Austereo Group Limited from 2001 until May 2011, executive chairman of Austereo Pty Ltd, managing director of the Triple M Network and managing director of the Clemenger Harvie advertising agency from 1974 to 1993.

Board Members – Rhys Holleran

Rhys Holleran


Rhys has a distinguished career in media having worked in the industry for 24 years since 1987. He has undertaken a variety of management roles including General Manager of 101.1 TTFM and Gold 104 (1992 to 1997) and Managing Director of R.G Capital Radio (1997-2004).

Rhys was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Southern Cross Media Group in 2009 and went on to oversee the highly visible merger between Austereo and Southern Cross in 2011, and remains in the leadership position for the combined business.

Louise Bolger BA, LLB (HONS)

General Counsel Corporate/Company Secretary

Louise Bolger joined Southern Cross Austereo (SCA) in 2010 as General Counsel and Company Secretary. As General Counsel she is responsible for the company’s legal function, which supports the corporate team and the various SCA business units. As Company Secretary Louise is responsible for corporate governance, continuous disclosure and compliance with ASX and ASIC requirements, and provides the SCA Board with independent advice and support in relation to these matters.

Louise is a qualified solicitor with more than 10 years’ experience, commencing her career in private practice before continuing on to in-house roles with Telstra, Logica, Bank of Queensland and more recently PIPE Networks Limited where she was both general counsel and company secretary.